Skip to main content

Professional Learning Resources for Social Studies

Social Studies Research

General

Learning Social Studies: An Evidence Based Approach - Provides an overview of best practices in the teaching and learning of social studies.

Learning in the Humanities

Speaking Up for Science and Social Studies - Dr. Nell Dukes describes why science and social studies is so important for literacy instructions.

Elementary

Tackling Controversial Topics: Developing Thematic Text Sets for Elementary Social Studies

Elementary Social Studies: Strategies for Strengthening Teaching and Learning - A white paper describing the problems facing elementary social studies education and works to address these problems.

Content-Specific

How Students Learn: History in the Classroom

A Road Map for Large-Scale Improvement in Geography Education

Six Proven Practices for Effective Civic Learning

Equity in Social Studies

Culturally Relevant Pedagogy in the Early Elementary Classroom

Teaching materials from the Minnesota Historical Society give examples of equity-focused curriculum and classroom instruction. 

AEA Social Studies Contacts

AEA Name Email Social Studies Webpage
Central Rivers Sherri Walker swalker@centralriversaea.org None
Grant Wood Carol Cassells ccassells@gwaea.org https://www.gwaea.org/educators/content-area-resources/social-studies
Great Prairie Seth Denney seth.denney@gpaea.org None
Green Hills Andrea Danker adanker@ghaea.org https://sites.google.com/ghaea.org/socialstudies/home
Heartland Alex Glade aglade@heartlandaea.org None
Keystone Patricia Lehmann plehmann@aea1.k12.ia.us https://www.keystoneaea.org/classroom-support/social-studies
Mississippi Bend Dan Nietzel dnietzel@aea9.k12.ia.us None
Northwest Judy Sweetman and Tyler Youngers jsweetman@nwaea.org and tyoungers@nwaea.org https://www.nwaea.org/connections-blogs/social-studies-blog/
Prairie Lakes Leslie Pralle Osborn lpralleosborn@plaea.org None

Blogs/Social Media

Twitter

  • #sschat
  • #iasocialstudies
     

Blogs

Professional Organizations