Skip to main content

Professional Development Resources for Social Studies

Statewide Social Studies Professional Development

The Iowa Department of Education provides two days of social studies professional development in every AEA each year. Check out the 2017-2018 Statewide Social Studies Professional Development Flyer for information on this year’s professional development opportunities. Contact your AEA social studies contact listed below with questions. If your district is interested in being trained on using the professional development email Stefanie Wager at stefanie.wager@iowa.gov.

AEA Social Studies Contacts
AEA Name Email
Central Rivers Marcia Knupp mknupp@centralriversaea.org
Keystone Patricia Lehmann plehmann@aea1.k12.ia.us
Mississippi Bend Dan Nietzel dnietzel@aea9.k12.ia.us
Grant Wood Carol Cassells ccassells@gwaea.org
Great Prairie Evan McCormick evan.mccormick@gpaea.org
Green Hills Andrea Danker adanker@ghaea.org
Heartland Alex Glade aglade@heartlandaea.org
Northwest Judy Sweetman and Mona Yanacheak jsweetman@nwaea.org and myanacheak@nwaea.org
Prairie Lakes Leslie Pralle lprallekeehn@plaea.org

Statewide Social Studies Professional Development Webinars

Iowa Core Literacy Standards for History/Social Studies 6-12

  • Module 5: Academic Vocabulary (coming soon)
  • Module 6: Text Complexity (coming soon)
  • Module 7: Text Based Evidence and Argument (coming soon)
  • Module 8: Writing from Sources (coming soon)

 

General Social Studies Professional Development Resources